Not happy

 I think I’ll start a new canvas & try this in oils or acrylics.  I just can’t seem to work oil pastels like I would like. 

 

About momsfun2

I love to paint, quilt, garden.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Not happy

  1. chrystene says:

    What’s giving you bother? Is it the feel, colors, canvas…greens are difficult…would it help if you squinted and thought in value masses vs subject? I hate when I’m toiling away and then throwing away only to repeat the same mistakes because I don’t have anybody to bounce ideas off. Hope this helps.

    • momsfun2 says:

      Thanks for the advice! I do need to work through it & finish. I’m not used to oil pastels.

      • chrystene says:

        I believe I’ve tried them all. I don’t like the feel. I paint mostly with oil paints sometimes acrylic. I can draw anything with a number 2 pencil, but also hate the look and feel of colored pencils. Non oil pastels are fluid and great for expressive works but they are way too messy!

  2. Don’t give up just yet, I was once told by another artist that all paintings go through an “ugly” stage, but i don’t even think you have that happening here, I think you just need to stick with it to figure out what is happening with the medium…unless you really want to paint, but honestly there are learning curves with every medium.

    • momsfun2 says:

      Thanks Heather. Your right! I have it filed with other unfinished paintings. I am working on 4 more right now. I just lost my passion for this one. There is not much information out for oil pastels. I will finish this one.

Leave a Reply

